Saturday, June 13, 2015

Denmark - the Britain of the North

Denmark is the location of Copenhagen, the current capital of Denmark, the Faroe Islands, and Greenland. It is also the former capitol of Norway, Iceland, much of Sweden, and part of Finland.

The height of Denmark's control was in 1397 when all those countries were under the control of Margaret I. The was referred to as the Kalmar Union.

As a result of the Stockholm Bloodbath, Sweden officially seceded in 1521. Denmark lost Skåneland to Sweden 1658, but then got it back in 1660. Norway left in 1814. Iceland was granted limited independence in 1874 which was expanded in 1904.

I love aquariums, so let me give a shout out to Denmark's national aquarium. It was opened in 1939 and as of 2013, has 450 unique species and 20,000 total animals. I can't read Danish, but thankfully they have an English version of their site.

No comments:

Post a Comment